Press Releases



The Hong Kong Management Association 57th Annual Fellowship Dinner cum Hong Kong Sustainability Award 2016/17 Presentation Ceremony was held successfully at InterContinental Hong Kong on Thursday, 16 November 2017. Mr John G. Rice, Vice Chairman, General Electric was the Guest of Honour of the occasion and delivered a thought-provoking speech to 500 members and guests.

Institute of Healthcare Management (HCM) Launching Ceremony

During the occasion, Mr James Thompson, Chairman of the Association proudly announced the launch of the Institute of Healthcare Management (HCM). The HCM aims to offer world-class healthcare management programmes and to serve as a learned platform for healthcare professional development with a view to making significant contribution to advancing management excellence in the healthcare sector in Hong Kong and the Region.

Dr the Hon Leong Che Hung GBM GBS JP, Chairman of the Advisory Board of HCM said, "We have assembled a team of senior practitioners and professors who excel in healthcare industry to join the Advisory Board to offer advice and guidance which are crucial to the success of the Institute. ... In the past few months, we have organized a number of programmes and activities for the Hong Kong and Mainland healthcare professionals and institutes. These programmes relate to digital healthcare management, dental surgeons support services, and Chinese medicine for executives` health."

Fellow and Charter Membership

In the occasion, 11 new Fellows and Charter Members were presented. Fellows are individuals who have distinguished themselves in the management field either by example or by contributing towards the general body of theory, philosophy and management practice. The five new Fellows this year are:

  1. Dr Edwin Leong, Chairman and Founder, Tai Hung Fai Enterprise Company Ltd
  2. Prof John Leong Chi-yan SBS OBE JP, Chairman, Hospital Authority
  3. Mr Lincoln Leong, Chief Executive Officer, MTR Corporation Ltd
  4. Dr K.M. Yeung SBS JP, President, Biel Crystal
  5. Mr Yue Yi, Vice Chairman, Executive Director and Chief Executive, Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited

Charter Members are outstanding corporate bodies or companies, which are admitted by invitation only. The six new Charter Members this year include:

  1. Gammon Construction Limited
  2. ISS Facility Services Limited
  3. iDance Enterprise Limited
  4. Quality HealthCare Medical Services Limited
  5. New World Development Company Limited
  6. Group M

Management Development Credit Unit (MDCU) Award

To recognize the achievement of companies in staff training and human resources development, three companies were awarded the Management Development Credit Unit (MDCU) Awards. China Merchants Energy Shipping Company Limited and Chubb Life Insurance Company Limited are awarded “Most Significant Growth Award". Hong Kong Broadband Network Limited and Neway Karaoke Box Limited were awarded the MDCU "Largest Sponsor of Staff Members Award" and "Largest Sponsor of Training Hours Award" respectively.

Hong Kong Sustainability Award 2016/17 Presentation Ceremony

In view of the rising significance of sustainability, the Association launched the inaugural Hong Kong Sustainability Award in October 2016 aiming to raise awareness of the business community of the importance of sustainability, to recognize best practices of sustainability, as well as to give public recognition to organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to sustainability in their operations while achieving good business performance. The Award Presentation Ceremony was also held during the occasion. Results of the Hong Kong Sustainability Award 2016/17 were as follows:

Large Organization Category
Grand Award
Gammon Construction Ltd
Small- and Medium-sized Organization Category
Grand Award
Jenston Technology Corporation Ltd
Hong Kong Sustainability Awards
  • Airport Authority Hong Kong
  • CLP Power Hong Kong Limited
  • Fuji Xerox (Hong Kong) Ltd
  • Gammon Construction Limited
  • MTR Corporation Limited
Hong Kong Sustainability Award

Jenston Technology Corporation Ltd

Certificates of Excellence
  • Cathay Pacific Airways Limited
  • The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Hang Lung Properties Limited
  • HKT Limited
  • The Hong Kong and China Gas Co Ltd
  • Hong Kong Broadband Network Limited
  • The Hong Kong Jockey Club
  • The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Jebsen Group
  • Li & Fung Limited
  • New World Development Company Ltd
  • NWS Holdings Limited
  • Orient Overseas Container Line Ltd
  • Sino Land Company Limited
  • Swire Coca-Cola HK
  • WTT HK Limited
Certificates of Excellence
  • AL Group Limited
  • AsiaWorld-Expo
  • Bayer Healthcare Ltd
  • BeeXergy Consulting Limited
  • Child Development Centre
  • Fimmick Limited
  • Island South Property Management Ltd
  • Jenston Works Company Limited
  • Karrie International Holdings Limited
  • Light Engine Limited
  • Lighthouse Technologies Limited
  • Linkz Industries Limited
  • New World Facilities Management Co Ltd
  • Pfizer Corporation Hong Kong Limited
  • TIME Interconnect Ltd
  • Tung Fat Ho Building Material Ltd
  • UDomain Web Hosting Company Ltd.
  • Ultra Active Technology Ltd
Special Recognition for Outstanding Sustainability Initiative
  • CLP Power Hong Kong Limited
  • Bayer Healthcare Ltd
Special Recognition for Creative Sustainability Idea
  • The Hong Kong and China Gas Co., Ltd.
  • Orient Overseas Container Line Limited
  • Fimmick Limited

To learn more about the Hong Kong Sustainability Award and the success stories of the winners, please visit: